google-site-verification=4ughixIuTRnLcSaPAOoQudexoumFVsL4qi6UJDvlUc8 Soccer-'French didn't mention this' - referee hits back in criticism over Argentina goal - Trending News

Soccer-‘French didn’t mention this’ – referee hits back in criticism over Argentina goal

(Reuters) – The World Cup final was over about a week ago, but the drama persisted when the match referee responded to criticism of Lionel Messi’s extra-time goal by displaying a photo on his phone during a press conference.

Messi scored twice for Argentina, while Kylian Mbappe scored a hat-trick for France, as the match ended 3-3 after 120 minutes of play. Argentina won the final in Lusail, Qatar, 4-2 on penalties.French media criticised Szymon Marciniak, the first Polish official to oversee a World Cup final, for not disqualifying Messi’s extra-time goal because two Argentina replacements were seen entering the field prior to the ball being placed in the goal.

The International Football Association Board’s Law 3, paragraph 9, states that the referee shall deny a goal if a substitute player was on the field of play when the goal was scored, according to the French publication L’Equipe.

Marciniak had a certain way of responding to the criticism.

As they were celebrating one of Mbappe’s scores, he put up a screenshot on his phone that revealed seven French substitutes had just joined the pitch.

Marciniak held up the phone and told reporters, “The French didn’t disclose this photo, where you can see how there are seven Frenchmen on the pitch when Mbappe scores a goal.

Marciniak made his remarks after a petition was started requesting for the championship game to be redone because of officiating mistakes. There are currently over 220,000 signatures on the petition.

Leave a Comment